Showing posts with label nyx. Show all posts
Showing posts with label nyx. Show all posts

Friday, 20 May 2016

A Revelation: NYX Jumbo Pencil in Milk



Urban Decay Dust, Makeup Geek Homecoming, Stila Kitten

Ever been perfectly aware of a cult beauty product and yet never tried it?  That's how I was with NYX Jumbo Pencil in Milk until recently - I spotted it in a NYX stand in a store, a lightbulb went on in my head (it spelled out brighter eyeshadow) and I bought it, expecting not very much despite having heard many, many times that it's creamy whiteness was the perfect way to brighten eyeshadows.

And indeed, it's bloody brilliant, I'm an idiot for not trying it earlier, etc etc.  The pencil is surprisingly smooth and creamy for something which costs a tiny £5 - it's easy to blend, doesn't crease as long as it's applied on top of primer, and brightens the hell out of pale shadows.  As you can see above, it doesn't work quite as well for deeper colours like Makeup Geek Homecoming, but for lighter shades like UD's Dust and Stila's iconic Kitten, it gives them a boost.  If you like that ultra bright neutral eye look, a dab of Milk blended in the centre of the lid before applying your sparkly pale shadow will add dimension and brighten the shadow.

Glorious.  Why didn't I try this before?  I forsee many bright-eyed looks in my future.

Disclosure:  Bought by me.

This post originated at www.londonbeautyreview.com. If you're reading it elsewhere, it's been stolen, violating my copyright.

Friday, 22 February 2013

Review & Swatches: NYX Matte Lip Cream in Antwerp, San Paulo and Monte Carlo


I love a matte lip, me.  I also really love NYX products - they're great quality products at a very reasonable price.  When I spotted these tubes of goodness on their site recently, I had to try a few out.


As you might expect, Matte Lip Creams are indeed matte, and come in a cream format.  Texture wise, they're surprisingly plush and silky when applied to lips, and they stay soft enough to ensure an even, smooth application before setting down.


The doe's foot applicator helps to apply the product with the necessary preciseness - because it dries down matte, you can't get away with a wobbly line, and it looks best on the lip with a sharp defined edge rather than a soft diffused edge.

On to the swatches.

Antwerp

Monte Carlo

San Paulo

The pigmentation is fabulous - a single light coating over the lips gives plenty of colour.  Once set, they can be quite dry looking - I definitely need to make sure that the lips are moisturised before application when I wear these.  Longevity is pretty good, coming in at a few hours before they become too dry on the lip to bear.

I'm kind of half-and-half on these - I like the initial silky texture, I like the opacity, and I love the colours - San Paulo is the most flattering mid pink I've ever owned and manages to bring out the green in my eyes whilst complementing my hair perfectly.  I don't really like the eventual dryness, though - I like my lips moist and lush, and I like to maintain them infrequently.  Price wise, they're pretty hard to beat at a mere £5 each.

Find them at the NYX website, but be aware that the swatches are a bit off - worth a bit of Googling before you buy.

Thursday, 31 January 2013

Swatched: NYX Stick Blush in Tea Rose and Orchid


I find that between general wear and my habit of leaning my cheek on my hand, my blush has typically disappeared by lunchtime.  I don't really fancy carrying around my powder blush and a brush, so I decided to try out a couple of NYX's Stick Blushes as a portable, long lasting solution to my too-pale cheeks.


Left to right: Tea Rose, Orchid
Tea Rose is a creamy neutral pink, which runs slightly cool, making it perfect for my skintone.  Orchid is a pink coral with golden shimmer - it reminds me of NARS Orgasm, albeit a little bit more pink.  The texture is a little greasy, I have to admit - once the product has warmed up a little on the skin, it applies with a little dragging, and gives the skin a bit of sheen as well as a pop of colour.  Perhaps not the best product for those with oily skin, then.

Colour wise, it's got amazing pigmentation for such a reasonably priced product - the colour goes on strong and blends out to a soft, natural flush.  Tea Rose can be sheered out to go with most looks, but Orchid needs a little more care as the shimmer is quite pronounced.

Left to right: Tea Rose, Orchid
For a mere £5.50, these are pretty damn decent - good pigmentation, reasonable wear time, and highly portable.  I'll probably be buying a few more shades.  Find them at NYX's UK website now.

Thursday, 24 January 2013

Review: NYX The Curve Eyeliner


This extremely interesting looking thing is NYX's answer to the eternal difficulty of doing perfect liquid liner.  It found its way into my basket when I was browsing NYX's UK site for unnecessary that given my lipstick drawer is overflowing essential new lip products and I'll admit I added it mostly because it's quite unusual.


The contents of the pen is an intense black liner which doesn't smudge and lasts up to 14 hours.  That's not a particularly new thing in the beauty world: you can find liners of this caliber from a great many brands.  The shape of the pen, though, is very innovative - it's curved, ergonomically designed, to help you maintain the steadiest of hands, aiding in the drawing of perfectly smooth liquid liner.




It's held like a gun, with the forefinger along the top of the curved pen, and the thumb gripping the side.  This position is comfortable, and enables me to run the liner smoothly and easily across my lashline, easily creating a thin or thick line with ease.

I'm incredibly impressed with this tool - it makes liquid liner so easy.  I don't personally struggle with felt tip or liquid liner so long as I take it slowly, but this tool makes it so easy I can apply it within a few seconds.  It's so much easier to use than the traditional cylindrical pen format.  I'd definitely repurchase, and would highly recommend the Curve to anyone who finds liquid liner a little bit of a faff.

Find it at the NYX website, where it'll cost you £12.50 - not cheap, but certainly not expensive for such a useful and unusual product.


Monday, 28 February 2011

February 2011: This month, we have been mostly wearing...

We decided to do a round-up post to give some love to our day-to-day workhorse products - the ones we might not be raving about in our reviews, but that still hit the spot having passed the test of time (well, been in favour for a month or so at least).

Sarah: 

1. Clinique High Lengths mascara, (£15, 7ml)*
This mascara has a curious bendy green comb for a brush that reminds me a bit of a blade of grass, or a grasshopper's leg. On a more practical note, it's great for precise, right-to-the-roots application and gives a pure black glossy finish.

2. Liz Earle Cleanse & Polish (£11.75, 100ml)
Initially a review sample (see original review) that I said I wouldn't repurchase, but that won me over with its outstanding performance over time. Kind on my irritable, dry winter skin, reliably making it softer, brighter and smoother. Still not in love with the eucalyptus smell, but it really, really works.

3. Poshe Super-Fast Drying Topcoat (£8.50, 15ml)
Just like Seche Vite, it delivers a hard-wearing glossy shine and dries at remarkably high speed (as the name suggests). Unlike Seche Vite, it's free from demonised ingredients Toluene and Formaldehyde.

4. Pout Flush Blush in Rampant Rose (discontinued)
Tragically discontinued English-Rose pink cream blush, which comes in a twist-up stick format. The link above is to Makeupalley's reviews of it. You can sometimes pick these up on eBay - definitely worth pouncing on if you see them.

5. Naked Coco de Mer bath foam (£3.99, 300ml)
Luxuriant bubbles, indulgent scent, and no drying SLS to be found anywhere. Naked are miracle-workers, particularly given the low price. I've been using this together with the Coco de Mer shower gel for a couple of weeks now and am totally smitten.





Gemma:


1.  The Body Shop Banana Conditioner (£3.99, 250ml)
Smelling comfortingly of my teenage years, TBS Banana Conditioner is rich, smells glorious, and is silicone free.  And cheap.  I'm already buying backups.

2.  Too Faced Shadow Insurance (£11, 10ml)
I'll be reviewing this one in depth at some point, but so far it's managed to control my oily lids surprisingly effectively - definitely on a par with UDPP.  Also, I love the tube packaging.  No waste!  I'll be trying the Glitter Glue variety next.

3.  Smashbox Halo Powder (£42 for 21g powder and brush)
I've had this product for ages.  A soft, slightly glowy powder which doesn't cake and adds a really pretty luminosity without shine.  It apparently is also anti aging, but I don't really care about that... I just like the finish.  Also, you grate the powder as you need it - genius!

4.  L'Oreal Studio Line Curl Power Mousse (£3.56, 200ml)
I know it's really 80s and all, but I just love mousse.  Strong hold mousse shapes my curls into proper S bends and ringlets without frizz, and I can always scrunch the crispiness out.  This one adds plenty of shine, and is silicone free.

5. NYX Powder Blush (£7.95 UK/$5.95 US)
I have this in Silky Rose and Raisin, and I'm staggered by the pigmentation.  They're on a par with my MAC and Cargo blushers - a single dip onto the blush is enough to give the cheeks a beautiful touch of colour.  They blend brilliantly too.

What products are you loving this month?  Let us know in the comments!



Thursday, 25 November 2010

CherryCulture Thanksgiving Sale



Another holiday (in the US at least), another CherryCulture sale.  Get 20% your order between 24th and 28th November with the code TG20 - and happy Thanksgiving to all our American readers!

Wednesday, 20 October 2010

Review: NYX Rouge Cream Blush


Ah, NYX - I love their products.  Particularly their lipsticks, and their eyeshadows.  Being on a bit of a blush kick at the moment (I can't justify owning more lipstick or eyeshadow), I recently ordered a couple of their Rouge Cream Blushes.  I chose Glow, which is a rather strong, cool pink, and Rose Petal, which is a more beige toned blush pink.

First off, the packaging on these is pretty basic: your standard black plastic circular case, hinged lid with clear insert - nothing special.  The blushes themselves are comparable to MAC in their size; you get a reasonable amount of product in each pan.


The texture is absolutely lovely.  Soft, creamy, but almost mousse-y, the blush is highly pigmented, ultra blendable, and a little goes a long way.  Glow is much brighter and cooler than the more wearable, natural Rose Petal.


Blended, the colours are more wearable and subtle.   As you can see, the colour is still fairly strong, given the small amount I used to swatch; it'd be easy to go overboard with this product if you weren't careful.  The amount used above is as much as I've been using to blend across both cheeks, which is enough to give a healthy, noticeable yet subtle glow.

Wear-wise, I've found that the cream texture sticks very securely to the skin, lasting the whole day with ease. As the texture is so creamy, the finish is a little bit on the shiny side - I quite like it, as it gives a sort of built-in highlighter effect, but if that's not to your taste, a touch of powder over the top dampens the shine down to less obvious levels.

Overall, if you're in the market for a well pigmented, light textured cream blush, NYX Rouge Cream Blush is a good product to try out - particularly as they cost around $6 - very reasonable, given that you need so little - these are sure to last a long time.

If you'd like to try these for yourself, you can get them from CherryCulture.com, where they will cost around $6 - less if you wait for one of CherryCulture's frequent sales!

Wednesday, 16 June 2010

Review: NYX Single Eyeshadows

NYX are a brand well loved by both me and Sarah for their very lovely and very cheap lipsticks.  I've recently swapped for a few of their single eyeshadows, to see whether they are also both fabulous and frugal.

First impressions are good; presented in fairly sturdy plastic pots, the shadows themselves are pressed into a sort of quilted pattern, which is interesting, even if it doesn't really add much.  The four shades I have here are Highlight, a matte cream; Eutopia, a matte chocolate brown; Salmon, a shimmery warm beige; and Cherry, a shimmering red.

The shadows are all reasonably well pigmented, with the matte shades being a little more sheer than the shimmer shades.  They are all very soft, but not to the extent of being crumbly, and blend easily.  I've been using the matte shades for a grown up, subtle eye to pair with a bright lip, and the creamy white of Highlight combined with the chocolate brown of Eutopia providing plenty of definition but in a very subtle and classy way.  I'm not usually a fan of matte shadows, but these are definitely helping to show me the light!

On the shimmer front, Salmon and Cherry together provide a good basis for a bright eye look; Cherry is wonderful as a crease colour if you like a bit of red, being nicely pigmented but not so strong that it's easy to overapply.  For me, though, the standout colour is Salmon - the shimmery, glowy finish is exactly what I get from my absolute favourite MAC Veluxe Pearl shadows, but with a much smaller price tag.

Speaking of the price, these shadows are available on CherryCulture.com, purveyors of all things NYX, for a mere $3.50 each at present, which makes them a wonderfully cheap buy.  While they're not the absolute best shadows I've ever used, they're perfectly serviceable - blendable, well pigmented for the price, and available in a multitude of colours.  If you're looking to expand your eyeshadow collection (or even start it off!) for a low price, these are a good choice.

Wednesday, 14 April 2010

Yet more NYX Lipstick swatches

Another Cherry Culture sale, another London Beauty Review NYX haul... here are six new Round Lipsticks modelled by moi.


Hades (517) - not a very fitting name for this mild-mannered neutral beige.


Fig (640) - a cheery creme pink.


Twist (663) - a punchy red-coral shimmer, very wearable.


NYX (507) Flagship shade? Deep orange shimmer, instant favourite.


Electra (513) Another of these bright cool-toned reds that NYX seem to favour


Chaos (511) An almost psychotically well-pigmented red with fuchsia overtones. Kaboom!

Friday, 26 March 2010

Even More NYX Swatches

I promise that Sarah and I will shortly sort all of these into one epic post containing all the swatches in one place.  For now, here are my latest purchases applied.  Unfortunately, out of the five, I'll only be keeping two... some of these are just a little too warm or too frosty for my liking.



Rose Bud - fairly sheer pink with lots of gold sparkle


Violet Ray - deep purply plum.  This one applied a little bit patchy, which surprised me.


Christie - very frosty pale Barbie pink


Fig - pinky coral cream


Black Cherry - blackened cherry red (surprisingly!).  Very pigmented, need to be careful applying this one.

Monday, 1 March 2010

Some more NYX lipstick swatches

A few more swatches of these lovely and bargainous lipsticks. They are available from Cherry Culture for just $1.75 each, and international shipping is quite reasonable. Some of these lipsticks are cast-offs from Gemma and Charlotte. Luckily I like all of them. I'm easil pleased.


Darling (614)

Heredes (538)

Click through for four more colours

Monday, 22 February 2010

Review: NYX Jumbo Eyeshadow Pencil

Given my new found love of NYX lipstick, my last Cherry Culture order contained a few more NYX items to see whether any of their other products would cause me to fall in love. One of these products was their Jumbo Eyeshadow Pencil, a creamy solid shadow stick which is available in 24 colours.

I purchased the Purple and Slate shades, swatches of which can be seen below. The colour is extremely smooth and creamy; it glides onto the skin and is easy to smudge and blend. Because it's so easy to blend, you can sheer the colour out to a pretty wash, or layer it up for a more intense finish.

The colours I tried were both rich and ever so slightly shimmery; not overly glittery, but a gentle, almost metallic pearl. The purple, in particular, really brings out the green in my eyes, and the deep grey Slate colour is a great base for a smoky, smudged eye.

Unfortunately, as with many cream products, this remains creamy and emollient on the lid, and doesn't dry down. I have oily eyelids, and I saw creasing within 5 minutes. Setting with a touch of powder eyeshadow didn't really make a huge amount of difference, probably because I had layered the colour up for a more intense result.

For me and my oily lids, the usages of this product are somewhat limited; it looks fabulous smudged into the upper and lower lashline, either for a bit of eye-enhancing colour (with the purple) or for a bit of smoke (with the slate). I won't be putting it anywhere near my crease again, though!

If you'd like to try these for yourself, you can get hold of them at CherryCulture.com, for just $3.00 each.

Monday, 11 January 2010

More NYX Lipstick Swatches

After my last slightly disappointing experience of picking NYX lipsticks, I did a lot of Googling for proper swatches before I placed another order (dedicated, that's me). Luckily this time only wo out of my latest batch didn't suit me, and hopefully will be swapped off soon. Here are swatches on my lips of the colours that don't clash with my hair or make me look dead. For the record, I'm an NC15.


Tea Rose - rich, pinky beige neutral cream


Thalia - mauve toned beige neutral cream


B52 - warm, very slightly pink beige neutral cream



Doll - strong rose pink cream



Heather - cool mauve pink cream



Saturn - frosty red-pink



Spellbound - cool rose cream



Electra - brick red cream



Snow White - burgundy cream

If you're after any of these shades - CherryCulture.com is still selling them for very little money.
Related Posts with Thumbnails